Annual Report 2018

Portfolio

EAA – the portfolio in 2018/2019

Significant advances have been made in winding up the assets of former WestLB AG. The volume of all securities and loans in the banking book transferred to the EAA has already been reduced by around 88%. The nominal volume of derivative products in the trading portfolio has been reduced by around 84% on a cumulative basis since its transfer to the EAA.

The volume of loans and securities decreased by around EUR 5 billion in 2018 alone while the nominal volume of mostly derivative financial products in the trading portfolio fell by some EUR 35 billion.

  • The portfolio is nominally smaller than we expected for this period; at the same time, its quality is better.
  • Despite declining income as a result of the reduction in the portfolio, the EAA has been able to avoid losses since 2012 and created higher reserves than expected.

The remaining banking book of around EUR 18 billion includes large portions which can basically be wound up over the short to medium term. Generally speaking, similar options exist in the trading portfolio.

Wind-up examples for formerly important clusters

more
  • Project finance was predominant in the EAA’s loan portfolio at the end of 2018. A significant portion thereof is in the energy sector, with a focus on power plants on the basis of conventional and renewable energies in Europe. Infrastructure projects constitute another focus.
  • The securities portfolio mostly includes European government bonds, the biggest exposures in this sector are in Italy and Portugal.
  • The portfolio structured products mainly includes the “Phoenix portfolio”, which is based on loans in the US housing market and was affected by huge losses in value during the financial crisis. The Phoenix volume has since been reduced from EUR 22.9 billion to EUR 4.9 billion. US student loans or educational loans constitute a further focus.

In the past fiscal year 2018 the EAA has systematically reduced the complexity and risks of the banking book portfolio through individual measures such as restructurings, early repayments and liquidations. The range of product categories, regions, quality and currencies of the remaining portfolio does, however, remain interesting to investors with differing investment focus.

Most of the financial products in the portfolio enjoy very good to average ratings, although individual subportfolios record higher ratios of non-performing (and, as a result, impaired) exposures. A good half half of the portfolio is denominated in EUR, with a further 40% in USD.

At present, the banking book portfolio of the EAA includes 52 direct and 44 indirect participations. The EAA’s winding-up process has focused primarily on exposures whose business operations may give rise to operational risks. In 2018, the EAA focused particularly on participations with a high book value of participations, high hidden reserves and complex structures. In this context 14 direct participations were sold or liquidated.

  • Material operating participations have been sold, as a result of which additional financial and operational risks have been eliminated.

Since 2010, a total of around 300 participations have been transferred to the EAA, of which 96 (direct and indirect) are still on the EAA’s books today. In addition to participations, the EAA took over around 1,400 special-purpose vehicles; by the end of 2018 their number had fallen to 264.

The liquidation of participations and special-purpose vehicles frequently takes a considerable amount of legal time and effort. As a result, the liquidation of a single company can extend over years because it might be subject to foreign legislation or because it requires the approval of the supervisory authorities.

  • The EAA has realised considerable value through the restructuring of participations and loan exposures.

Geschäftsbericht 2018

Portfolio

EAA – Das Portfolio 2018/2019

Die Abwicklung des von der ehemaligen WestLB AG übernommenen Vermögens ist weit fortgeschritten. Das Volumen aller auf die EAA übertragenen Wertpapiere und Kredite im Bankbuchbestand ist schon um rund 88% abgebaut. Das Nominalvolumen der derivativen Produkte im Handelsbestand ist seit Übertragung auf die EAA kumuliert um rund 84% reduziert worden.

Das Kredit- und Wertpapiervolumen ging allein im Jahr 2018 um rund 5 Milliarden Euro zurück, das Nominalvolumen der überwiegend derivativen Finanzprodukte im Handelsbestand fiel um rund 35 Milliarden Euro.

  • Das Portfolio ist nominal kleiner, als wir es für diesen Zeitpunkt erwartet haben und es ist zugleich qualitativ besser.
  • Die EAA konnte – trotz rückläufiger Erträge in Folge des Portfolioabbaus – seit 2012 Verluste vermeiden und höhere Reserven schaffen als erwartet.

Der verbliebene Bankbuchbestand von rund 18 Mrd. EUR enthält große Teile, die grundsätzlich kurz- bis mittelfristig abgewickelt werden können. Entsprechende Möglichkeiten bieten sich grundsätzlich auch im Handelsbestand.

Abbaubeispiele für ehemals wichtige Cluster

mehr
  • Im Kreditportfolio der EAA dominierten zum Ende des Jahres 2018 Projektfinanzierungen. Sie sind zu einem erheblichen Teil im Energiesektor angesiedelt. Der Schwerpunkt sind Kraftwerke auf Basis konventioneller sowie erneuerbarer Energien in Europa. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt sind Infrastrukturprojekte.
  • Im Wertpapierportfolio sind überwiegend europäische Staatsanleihen enthalten, die größten Engagements in diesem Sektor entfallen auf Italien und Portugal.
  • Das Teilportfolio Strukturierte Produkte enthält vor allem das sogenannte „Phoenix-Portfolio“, dem Kredite auf dem US-Häusermarkt zugrunde liegen und das in der Finanzkrise von massiven Wertverlusten betroffen war. Das Phoenix-Volumen ist inzwischen von rund 22,9 auf rund 4,9 Mrd. EUR abgebaut. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt bilden US-Studenten-Kredite oder auch Ausbildungskredite.

Die EAA hat im abgelaufenen Geschäftsjahr 2018 die Komplexität und Risiken des Bankbuchportfolios durch Einzelmaßnahmen wie Restrukturierungen, vorzeitige Rückführungen und Verwertungen gezielt verringert. Die Bandbreite von Produktklassen, Regionen, Qualität und Währungen des verbliebenen Portfolios ist jedoch nach wie vor für Investoren mit unterschiedlichem Anlagefokus interessant.

Die Finanzprodukte im Portfolio haben zum größten Teil sehr gute bis mittlere Ratings, einzelne Teilportfolios weisen aber auch größere Quoten leistungsgestörter (und entsprechend wertberichtigter) Engagements auf. Gut die Hälfte des Portfolios ist in Euro denominiert, weitere 40 Prozent in US-Dollar.

Zum Bankbuchbestand der EAA gehören aktuell noch 52 direkte und 44 indirekte Beteiligungen. Beim Abbau von Beteiligungen hat sich die EAA vor allem auf Engagements konzentriert, deren Geschäftsbetrieb mit operativen Risiken verbunden sein kann. 2018 konzentrierte sich die EAA insbesondere auf Beteiligungen mit hohem Beteiligungsbuchwert, stillen Reserven oder komplexen Strukturen. 14 direkte Beteiligungen wurden in diesem Kontext verkauft oder liquidiert.

  • Wesentliche operative Beteiligungen sind verkauft und somit zusätzliche finanzielle und operative Risiken entschärft.

Auf die EAA wurden seit 2010 insgesamt rund 300 Beteiligungen übertragen, von denen heute noch 96 (direkte und indirekte) in den Büchern der EAA stehen. Zusätzlich zu den Beteiligungen übernahm die EAA rund 1400 Zweckgesellschaften, Ende 2018 war der Bestand auf 264 gesunken.

Die Abwicklung von Beteiligungen und Zweckgesellschaften ist sehr häufig mit einem erheblichen juristischen Aufwand verbunden. So kann sich die Abwicklung einer einzelnen Gesellschaft über Jahre erstrecken, weil sie etwa ausländischem Recht unterliegt oder eine Zustimmung von Aufsichtsbehörden notwendig ist.

  • Durch Restrukturierung von Beteiligungen und Kreditengagements hat die EAA erhebliche Werte realisiert.